Faq
Deaf-related online resources
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
A listing of places online that offer information and other resources about deafness and deaf culture, including those offered by Gallaudet University.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
A listing of places online that offer information and other resources about deafness and deaf culture, including those offered by Gallaudet University.
FAQ: "Mistakes" on the Gallaudet/Cogswell statue
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide covers features popularly perceived as mistakes on the campus statue of Edward Miner Gallaudet and his pupil, Alice Cogswell.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide covers features popularly perceived as mistakes on the campus statue of Edward Miner Gallaudet and his pupil, Alice Cogswell.
FAQ: Crab Theory
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide offers some background on the idea of "Crab Theory."
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide offers some background on the idea of "Crab Theory."
FAQ: Deaf Animals
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide briefly discusses the more common incidences of deafness in various species.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide briefly discusses the more common incidences of deafness in various species.
FAQ: Deaf people in history
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide covers Laurent Clerc's writings, Helen Keller's quotations, slavery, the Nobel Prize, the Gallaudet Family, the Holocaust, and the Civil War.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide covers Laurent Clerc's writings, Helen Keller's quotations, slavery, the Nobel Prize, the Gallaudet Family, the Holocaust, and the Civil War.
FAQ: Deaf Sports
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers a background of sports in deaf history, particularly with respect to international competition.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers a background of sports in deaf history, particularly with respect to international competition.
FAQ: Etiologies and causes of deafness
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide lists most known medical causes of deafness.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide lists most known medical causes of deafness.
FAQ: Gallaudet Bison
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers background on Gallaudet University's Bison mascot.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers background on Gallaudet University's Bison mascot.
FAQ: History of Visual Applause for the Deaf
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide offers some history and background on visual applause.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide offers some history and background on visual applause.
FAQ: Kendall Motor Oil Company name and logo
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide attempts to clarify the apparent connection between this oil company and Gallaudet University.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This brief guide attempts to clarify the apparent connection between this oil company and Gallaudet University.
FAQ: Places named for deaf people
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
This guide attempts to provide a selected listing on places known to have been named after deaf individuals.
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2012
This guide attempts to provide a selected listing on places known to have been named after deaf individuals.
FAQ: Publishers/vendors of deaf-related materials
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers a listing of known vendors and publishers of books, films, and other items related to deaf history, culture, and life.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide offers a listing of known vendors and publishers of books, films, and other items related to deaf history, culture, and life.
FAQ: The Lincoln Memorial Statue
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
The statue of Abraham Lincoln seated at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., has long been thought to have a connection to the Deaf community. But does it?
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
The statue of Abraham Lincoln seated at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., has long been thought to have a connection to the Deaf community. But does it?
For librarians
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide includes information for librarians who work with deaf or hard of hearing patrons or with deaf-related collections.
- Last Updated Jul 18, 2012
This guide includes information for librarians who work with deaf or hard of hearing patrons or with deaf-related collections.
Gallaudet University: Institutional History
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
This guide is for those beginning to research Gallaudet's rich history of almost 150 years.
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
This guide is for those beginning to research Gallaudet's rich history of almost 150 years.
Little Paper Family
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
usually defined as the group of those newspapers and magazines published by the various state residential schools for the deaf and written and edited mostly or entirely by deaf persons
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
usually defined as the group of those newspapers and magazines published by the various state residential schools for the deaf and written and edited mostly or entirely by deaf persons
Sign Language
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language.
- Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language.
