Guides
American Sign Language Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This page lists information sources and suggests research strategies on topics related to American Sign Language.
Children & Parents Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers resources and suggestions for research into parent-child relationships with differing hearing abilities.
Cochlear Implants Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide includes starting points and suggested strategies for performing research on cochlear implantation.
Cued Speech - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide provides bibliographies and suggested strategies for research in the topic of Cued Speech.
Deaf Culture Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers some resources and suggestions for researching deaf culture.
Deaf-related online resources - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 A listing of places online that offer information and other resources about deafness and deaf culture, including those offered by Gallaudet University.
E-Books @ Gallaudet Library - Last Updated May 13, 2013 E-Book Guide: How to use and download e-books made available by the Library
FAQ: "Mistakes" on the Gallaudet/Cogswell statue - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This brief guide covers features popularly perceived as mistakes on the campus statue of Edward Miner Gallaudet and his pupil, Alice Cogswell.
FAQ: Crab Theory - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This brief guide offers some background on the idea of "Crab Theory."
FAQ: Deaf Animals - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide briefly discusses the more common incidences of deafness in various species.
FAQ: Deaf people in history - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide covers Laurent Clerc's writings, Helen Keller's quotations, slavery, the Nobel Prize, the Gallaudet Family, the Holocaust, and the Civil War.
FAQ: Deaf Sports - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers a background of sports in deaf history, particularly with respect to international competition.
FAQ: Etiologies and causes of deafness - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide lists most known medical causes of deafness.
FAQ: Gallaudet Bison - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers background on Gallaudet University's Bison mascot.
FAQ: History of Visual Applause for the Deaf - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This brief guide offers some history and background on visual applause.
FAQ: Kendall Motor Oil Company name and logo - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This brief guide attempts to clarify the apparent connection between this oil company and Gallaudet University.
FAQ: Places named for deaf people - Last Updated Sep 19, 2012 This guide attempts to provide a selected listing on places known to have been named after deaf individuals.
FAQ: Publishers/vendors of deaf-related materials - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers a listing of known vendors and publishers of books, films, and other items related to deaf history, culture, and life.
FAQ: The Lincoln Memorial Statue - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 The statue of Abraham Lincoln seated at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., has long been thought to have a connection to the Deaf community. But does it?
For librarians - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide includes information for librarians who work with deaf or hard of hearing patrons or with deaf-related collections.
GSR 150: Research Methods - Last Updated Mar 13, 2013 Some help finding various resources that will aid in beginning research, composing a research paper, and writing a bibliography.
Indexes to Deaf, Deaf Education, and Audiology/Speech Periodicals - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers a selected listing of regular publications in the studies of deaf culture, deaf education, and audiology/speech-language pathology.
International Sign Language Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers some basic information about how to get started on researching the sign languages of countries other than the United States.
Interpreting for the Deaf Research Guide - Last Updated Jul 18, 2012 This guide offers some basic ideas and strategies for getting started on researching the topic of sign language interpreting.
Sign Language - Last Updated Jul 17, 2012 A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language. |
|


Loading...
