Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

LibGuides - Laura Jacobi

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Laura Jacobi
Logo - AIM
Contact Info:
Gallaudet University Library
Merrill Learning Center Room 1402
800 Florida Ave., N.E.
Washington, D.C. 20002
202-651-5239 V/TTY
202-651-5213 FAX

AIM: lauragally

Guides

American Sign Language Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This page lists information sources and suggests research strategies on topics related to American Sign Language.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Children & Parents Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers resources and suggestions for research into parent-child relationships with differing hearing abilities.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Cochlear Implants Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide includes starting points and suggested strategies for performing research on cochlear implantation.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Copy, scan, and print
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 3, 2014
Tags: services
Cued Speech
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide provides bibliographies and suggested strategies for research in the topic of Cued Speech.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Deaf Biographies
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Feb 26, 2014
Tags: deaf, faq, research guide
Deaf Culture Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers some resources and suggestions for researching deaf culture.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Deaf Research Guide
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jun 3, 2013
Tags: deaf, research guide
Deaf-related online resources
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
A listing of places online that offer information and other resources about deafness and deaf culture, including those offered by Gallaudet University.
Tags: deaf, faq
E-Books @ Gallaudet Library
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Jim McCarthy - Last Updated Aug 12, 2013
E-Book Guide: How to use and download e-books made available by the Library
English
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
General guide to English-related Library resources.
FAQ: "Mistakes" on the Gallaudet/Cogswell statue
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This brief guide covers features popularly perceived as mistakes on the campus statue of Edward Miner Gallaudet and his pupil, Alice Cogswell.
Tags: deaf, faq, gallaudet history
FAQ: Crab Theory
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This brief guide offers some background on the idea of "Crab Theory."
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Deaf Animals
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide briefly discusses the more common incidences of deafness in various species.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Deaf people in history
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide covers Laurent Clerc's writings, Helen Keller's quotations, slavery, the Nobel Prize, the Gallaudet Family, the Holocaust, and the Civil War.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Deaf Sports
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers a background of sports in deaf history, particularly with respect to international competition.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Etiologies and causes of deafness
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide lists most known medical causes of deafness.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Gallaudet Bison
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers background on Gallaudet University's Bison mascot.
Tags: deaf, faq, gallaudet history
FAQ: History of Visual Applause for the Deaf
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This brief guide offers some history and background on visual applause.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Kendall Motor Oil Company name and logo
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This brief guide attempts to clarify the apparent connection between this oil company and Gallaudet University.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Places named for deaf people
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide attempts to provide a selected listing on places known to have been named after deaf individuals.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: Publishers/vendors of deaf-related materials
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers a listing of known vendors and publishers of books, films, and other items related to deaf history, culture, and life.
Tags: deaf, faq
FAQ: The Lincoln Memorial Statue
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
The statue of Abraham Lincoln seated at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C., has long been thought to have a connection to the Deaf community. But does it?
Tags: deaf, faq
Find books and non-video media
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Aug 13, 2012
Tags: services
Find dissertations
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Dec 12, 2013
Tags: services
Find my librarian
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 22, 2014
Tags: services
Find videos
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Nov 25, 2013
Tags: services
For librarians
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide includes information for librarians who work with deaf or hard of hearing patrons or with deaf-related collections.
Tags: deaf, faq
Format citations
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jun 11, 2014
Tags: help
Free things to do in Washington, D.C.
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
Get a job in the Library
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Mar 4, 2014
Tags: services
Get items from other libraries
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Feb 17, 2014
Tags: services
Graduate Students
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Sep 9, 2013
GSR 150: Research Methods
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
Some help finding various resources that will aid in beginning research, composing a research paper, and writing a bibliography.
Indexes to Deaf, Deaf Education, and Audiology/Speech Periodicals
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers a selected listing of regular publications in the studies of deaf culture, deaf education, and audiology/speech-language pathology.
Tags: deaf, research guide
International Sign Language Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers some basic information about how to get started on researching the sign languages of countries other than the United States.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Interpreting for the Deaf Research Guide
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
This guide offers some basic ideas and strategies for getting started on researching the topic of sign language interpreting.
Tags: deaf, research guide
Library statistics
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 24, 2012
Tags: about us
Linguistics
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
Guide to Library resources for English linguistics.
Log on to my account
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
Tags: services
Online and Distance Students
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Nov 22, 2013
Peer-reviewed articles
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 14, 2014
Psychology of Adolescence
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Aug 28, 2013
Renew books and videos
by Sarah Hamrick, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2014
Tags: services
Responsible Use of Electronic Resources
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi - Last Updated May 13, 2014
Responsible, appropriate uses of databases, e-journals, and other electronic content provided by the Gallaudet University Library
Tags: e-journals, e-resources, policy
Sign Language
by Sarah Hamrick, Elizabeth Henry, Laura Jacobi, Patrick Oberholtzer, Jamie Smith - Last Updated Jul 9, 2014
A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language.
Tags: deaf, faq
Social Work
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Jul 17, 2012
Study Space
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
Tags: services
Visitor information
by Laura Jacobi - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
 
 
Description

  Loading...