This is the "Journals/Articles" page of the "Deaf Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Deaf Literature   Tags: deaf, research guide  

Deaf literature is composed of works by deaf authors and literary works by deaf or hearing authors, which include deaf characters in short stories, novels, poetry, and plays. ASL poetry and autobiographies are not included.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/deaf_lit Print Guide RSS Updates

Journals/Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases & Journals that include Deaf Author Information

Gallaudet University Library Guide to Deaf Biographies

Search by keyword or Browse Occupations. Some keywords or occupations are:

  • author
  • dramatist
  • poet
  • writer

For more in-depth information on Deaf biographical research, please visit our research guide.

Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals

To locate literary works by deaf authors in deaf periodicals, search the Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals (database). The Index is available through the ALADIN databases.  The following periodicals are in indexed in this database: 

  • American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb
  • Deaf American
  • Deaf Life
  • Deaf Nation
  • Silent Worker

 In the Search by Keyword category, click Subjects for the "search for" and use the following terms:

  • authors
  • dramatists
  • playwrights
  • poets
  • various forms of literature: poetry, short stories, etc.
  • individual names, example: bruce hlibok

Additional Indexes

In the online databases listed below, search for individual deaf authors or deaf writers who have written critiques of other authors' works.

  • Ebscohost Academic Premier
  • JSTOR
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Periodical Index/1983-1993
  • Project Muse
  • ProQuest Research Libraries

For dissertations, search Dissertations and These (ProQuest).

The above indexes in ALADIN may be accessed from anywhere by current Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff, and by visitors on the Gallaudet campus. Non-Gallaudet researchers in other locations may be able to access the above or similar databases through their own libraries.

 

Databases and Journals that include information about Deaf Characters

Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals

To locate literary criticism articles about deaf characters in deaf periodicals, search the Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals (database). The Index is available through the databases.  The following periodicals are in indexed in this database. 

These periodicals are:

  • Deaf Life
  • Deaf American
  • Deaf Nation
  • Silent Worker

Periodical and Dissertation Indexes

Periodicals and dissertations are also good sources of literary criticism. The following databases are recommended to search for journal articles and Dissertation & Theses database to search for dissertations.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
  • JSTOR
  • Proquest Research Library

The databases may be accessed from any location by current Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff, and by visitors to the Gallaudet campus. Other researchers may be able to access similar databases through their own libraries.  To locate the databases, please refer to the A-Z E-Resource List.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip