This is the "Copyright Resources" page of the "Copyright Basics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright Basics  

An overview of basic information about U.S. Copyright Law for Gallaudet University students, faculty, and staff.
Last Updated: Jun 2, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=47250 Print Guide RSS Updates

Copyright Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Contact a librarian

I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email:
library.help@gallaudet.edu

Phone: 
Videophone 202-779-9478

Help Request Form

 

Copyright Resources: Table of Contents

To learn more about various types of Copyright Resources, click the links below:

 

Copyright Tools

These tools help you evaluate whether or not you may legally reproduce copyrighted material.

The American Library Association's Office for Information Technology Policy created a Fair Use Evaluator that helps you determine if Fair Use applies to your situation.

The Office for Information Technology also provides a Section 108 "Spinner." Section 108 provides some exemptions that allow libraries and archives to reproduce materials without the permission of the copyright holder. While designed for libraries and archives, there are some situations described that may be of use to other researchers.

The web site maintained by Columbia University Libraries Copyright Advisory Office is an excellent resource that provides information about Fair Use, how to get permissions, and the latest copyright news. The Fair Use Checklist there can be used to consider if Fair Use may apply to a particular situation. (But keep in mind that only a court can make an absolute determination of Fair Use.)

 

Copyright Tutorials

There are several online copyright tutorials that provide a good overview of the primary issues one must know.

Brigham Young University's Copyright 101 has introductory captioned videos, clear explanations about copyright and Fair Use, and several useful case studies. Each section ends with a quiz. 

The Copyright Crash Course Online Tutorial produced by staff at the University of Texas System Libraries is another very good resource. Based on a series of hypothetical situations it takes the user through different scenarios to answer some common copyright questions.

 

 

Copyright and Film

Copyright laws and guidelines governing the use of film and other media require special consideration. These resources provide specialized information about the use of media resources.

The Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Media Literacy Education, produced by the Center for Social Media at American University's School of Communication, provides educators with information to help determine when the Fair Use doctrine applies.

The same organization also produced the excellent Documentary Filmmakers' Statement of Best Practices in Fair Use. This document provides guidance for applying Fair Use in making documentary films that can also be used for other situations.

There are some other great resources at the Center for Media and Soical Impact's web site. While not all are directly related to copyright, there is excellent copyright information throughout the resources there.

 

TEACH Act Resources

These resources will help you learn more about copyright in online education.

The Institute for Learning and Teaching at Colorado State University has a TEACH checklist that is very helpful.

The Crash Course in Copyright at the University of Texas has a section on the TEACH Act that provides excellent information as well as a brief checklist. 

The American Library Association's The Teach Act and Some Frequently Asked Questions covers highlights of the law.

Penn State University also has a list of TEACH Act Frequently Asked Questions that are very good.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip