This is the "Find Journal Articles" page of the "BIO 201: Research Methods" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BIO 201: Research Methods  

Last Updated: Jun 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=45843 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find Journal Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find e-Journals

You can search by title of the journal or by subject.

Databases with full text articles

These ALADIN databases are good places to start your research.  If you are off campus, you will need to log on.

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Provides full text for more than 3,460 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, and medical sciences
  • Biology Journals
    Indexes 281 journals published since 1988. Full text is available for most articles. A good source for articles on audiology and biomedicine. 1988 - current
  • Science Journals
    Science journal articles published 1971-.
  • ScienceDirect  
      
    Current Gallaudet University students, faculty, and staff members may use ScienceDirect to request copies of specific journal articles and book chapters that are not already available through another ALADIN database or at Gallaudet University Library.

Databases with some full text articles

 

What is peer-review?

A lot of times, academic journals require peer review for new articles. What this means is that when an article is submitted to a journal, it has to go through a process where other experts in the same field read it and decide whether or not it's a good article. That decision depends on questions like:

  • Is it well-researched?
  • Are the methods consistently applied?
  • Are the basic principles of the article accurate according to the reviewer's knowledge of the subject?
  • Is the article as neutral as possible, or does the author seem to personally prefer one conclusion over another?

This is important because it's a quality-control process, which means only good, strong articles that are accurate, well-researched, and consistent are published. Because of that, you can trust those articles because you know the author didn't just make up a bunch of big words that sound nice together. Peer-reviewed articles can also be called scholarly articles because they're very high-quality works that are appropriate for use by scholars (like you!) in their academic research.

You can find peer-reviewed articles in most of our e-journal databases. When you search for articles, you will usually see a little box under the search box that says something like "Scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed" in ProQuest Research Library or "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" in Ebscohost: Academic Search Premier; the database will let you put a little check mark in that box so that only high-quality articles appear in your search results. You may need to hunt around for that little box if you're not familiar with the database you're using, but it's always worth the effort!

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patrick Oberholtzer
Contact Info
Gallaudet University Library
Merrill Learning Center Room 1303
800 Florida Ave., N.E.
Washington, D.C. 20002
202-651-5233V/TTY
202-651-5213 FAX
AIM: walrusandthe
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip