This is the "Articles" page of the "PER 400 - Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Education and Recreation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PER 400 - Measurement and Evaluation in Physical Education and Recreation  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=378391 Print Guide RSS Updates
Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles

  • SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
    A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • PsycINFO
    PsycINFO is an abstract database that provides systematic coverage of the psychological literature from the 1800s to the present.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • Dissertations & Theses
    Contains over 2 million citations and abstracts, ranging from the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861 to present. Titles published since 1997 are available full text in PDF format.
    Note: dissertations and theses from Gallaudet can be found here
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • Education Journals
    Indexes more than 750 titles on education, including primary, secondary, and university-level topics. Almost 500 titles include full text.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • Social Science Journals
    Deaf and disability topics published in quality publications such as Sociology of Sport Journal, Journal of Youth and Adolescence, and International Review for the Sociology of Sport can be found here.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • ERIC
    Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • PubMed
 

What is peer-review?

A lot of times, academic journals require peer review for new articles. What this means is that when an article is submitted to a journal, it has to go through a process where other experts in the same field read it and decide whether or not it's a good article. That decision depends on questions like:

  • Is it well-researched?
  • Are the methods consistently applied?
  • Are the basic principles of the article accurate according to the reviewer's knowledge of the subject?
  • Is the article as neutral as possible, or does the author seem to personally prefer one conclusion over another?

This is important because it's a quality-control process, which means only good, strong articles that are accurate, well-researched, and consistent are published. Because of that, you can trust those articles because you know the author didn't just make up a bunch of big words that sound nice together. Peer-reviewed articles can also be called scholarly articles because they're very high-quality works that are appropriate for use by scholars (like you!) in their academic research.

You can find peer-reviewed articles in most of our e-journal databases. When you search for articles, you will usually see a little box under the search box that says something like "Scholarly journals, including peer-reviewed" in ProQuest Research Library or "Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals" in Ebscohost: Academic Search Premier; the database will let you put a little check mark in that box so that only high-quality articles appear in your search results. You may need to hunt around for that little box if you're not familiar with the database you're using, but it's always worth the effort!

 

 

Research Glossary

Abstract: A short summary of an article. Not acceptable as a source.

Citation: A little note inserted after each idea in your paper that tells the reader where in your references the information came from. E.G.: (Roberts, 2000)

Database: A searchable electronic collection of journals.

Full-Text: The entire article is available.

Journal: A regularly-published magazine full of articles.

Peer-Reviewed: See the box to the right for a full explanation.

Reference: The publication information for each of your sources. E.G.: Roberts, K. (2000). The dynamics of deaf-hearing interaction. American Annals for the Deaf, 186(2), 271-278.

Source: A book, article, or other publication you use to find information for your paper.

 

Contact a librarian

I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email:
library.help@gallaudet.edu

Phone: 
Videophone 202-779-9478
Voice 202-651-5217

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip