This is the "Databases by Subject" page of the "E-Resources by Subject" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

E-Resources by Subject  

Last Updated: May 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=353235 Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases by Subject Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Databases

The following covers a broad range of subject areas:

Do you know which journal you want to look for?  Then go to the e-journal finder

     

    Off-campus access

    When you are off campus, you will be asked for:

    • Your last name
    • Galludet University ID (or your library bacode, located on the back of your Gallaudet ID card)
    • Which institution you attend (Gallaudet). 

    You need to enter the information before you can access the database.

    For further information about off-campus access, please refer to the "How to log on" guide.

    Still having trouble?  Please feel free to contact us.

     

    Contact a librarian

    I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

    JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

    Email:
    library.help@gallaudet.edu

    Phone: 
    Videophone 202-779-9478

    Help Request Form

    Accounting/Business/Economics

    • ABI/INFORM Collection
      Covers business management and information technology subjects
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Accounting & Tax
      Covers topics related to accounting and tax
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Asian & European Business Collection
      This database provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty & staff.
    • Banking Information Database
      Provides abstracts and full text from journals, magazines and newsletters publications, with information about the financial services industry, banking, and industry trends.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Career and Technical Education
      An ideal source for vocational information. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing. The database includes over 540 titles, with more than 470 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • European Business Journals
      Provides in-depth coverage of one of the world's most important areas of economic activity. Full-text, fully searchable articles are available from more than 110 leading titles, including The Economist, Fortune, and European Business Journal. The database also includes information on specific economic and market conditions in countries and regions throughout Europe.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • ProQuest Accounting, Business & Economics
      Composed of multiple databases within ProQuest, such as ABI/INFORM, Accounting & Tax, Asian Business & Reference, Banking Information Source, Career & Technical Education, European Business, Hoover's Company Profiles, Telecommunications, and Wall Street Journal.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Telecommunications
      Provides access to the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Valueline Investment Survey
      A comprehensive source of information and advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 98 industries, the stock market, and the economy. It has three parts: The Ratings & Reports section, the Summary & Index section, and the Selection & Opinion section.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Art

    • JSTOR
      Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The subjects can vary widely, such as Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies and Sociology.
      **NOTE: Gallaudet does not subscribe to every journal or articles within JSTOR**
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Biology

    • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
      A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Biology Journals
      Provides access to a wide range of topics in biology and life sciences such as biological chemistry, biophysics, environmental studies, and more. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
      A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Science Journals
      Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Chemistry

    • Science Journals
      Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Deaf

    NOTE: Deaf can appear in many other subjects such as education, psychology, sports, etc.  Give the other subject areas a try!

    • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
      Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media such as speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies, etc. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Dissertations & Theses @ Gallaudet University - WRLC
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness
      A comprehensive 3-volume reference work providing information on the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community in most of the major countries around the world.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Gallaudet University Library Guide to Deaf Biographies
      Created by Gallaudet Library, this guide contains well-known deaf and hard-of-hearing people, but a few hearing people who have been important to or influential on the deaf are included also. Unless specfically identified otherwise, a subject may be assumed to be deaf.
      NOTE: This guide is not comprehensive. Additional people and information about the people found in the guide can be found in various locations.
      Last updated April 2007
      Open to the public
    • Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
      An index to articles in selected deaf-related journals. Work on this database is an on-going project and additional years of coverage will be added from time to time.
      Last updated April 2007
      Open to the public
    • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
      Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • ProQuest Research Library
      Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Sage Deaf Studies Encyclopedia
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    E-Books

    • E-Book Collection (EBSCO)
      Majority of e-books focus on deaf-related topics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • EBL (Electronic Book Library)
      Can download onto mobile devices
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Ebrary
      Can download onto mobile devices.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Education

    • Career and Technical Education
      An ideal source for vocational information. Vocational/technical topics include technology, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design, photography, and nursing. The database includes over 540 titles, with more than 470 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Education Journals
      Offers a comprehensive research collection of more than 650 magazines and journals for K-12 professional development and continuing education--the ultimate resource to help teachers stay current in their profession.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Educator's Reference Complete
      Covers all levels of education and concentrates on educational principles, child development and psychology, and best practices in education. It contains academic journal articles, reports, and reference works with many available in full text. Indexed publications is available from 1980 to the present.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Encyclopedia of Language and Education
      Covers numerous subjects in the field of language and education. Each volume deals with a single substantial subject and includes topical reviews.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • ERIC
      Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • ERIC: Educational Resources Information Center (Government)
      Provides unlimited access to more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If available, links to full text are included.
      Open to the public
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
      Descriptions and critical reviews of over 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence, attitude measures, aptitude measures, educational, speech and hearing, and sensory motor.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Government/Political Science

    • LexisNexis Academic
      Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Political Science Complete
      Provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Health

    • Biology Journals
      Provides access to a wide range of topics in biology and life sciences such as biological chemistry, biophysics, environmental studies, and more. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
      A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Pharmaceutical News Index
      Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Science Journals
      Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Telecommunications
      Provides access to the full text of top telecommunications industry publications. Includes magazines, journals, and newsletters for the latest in this fast changing industry.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Hearing, Speech, and Language Sciences

    • Biology Journals
      Provides access to a wide range of topics in biology and life sciences such as biological chemistry, biophysics, environmental studies, and more. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
      A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome (ComDisDome)
      Contains indexes and abstracts covering communications disorders literature. Areas include: Audiologic Management, Audiology, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Communication Mechanism and Systems, Electroneuronography, Hearing Assessment, Hearing Conservation, Hearing Impairment, Hearing Science, Pediatric Audiology, Professional Issues, Rehabilitative Audiology, Speech/Articulation, and Speech-Language Pathology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Pharmaceutical News Index
      Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PubMed (Medline)
      Medline differs from PubMed Central by freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM's controlled vocabulary, the Medical Subject Headings .
      Open to the public
    • PubMed Central
      A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
      Open to the public
      Open to the public

    History

    • America: History & Life
      Contains a definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • JSTOR
      Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The subjects can vary widely, such as Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies and Sociology.
      **NOTE: Gallaudet does not subscribe to every journal or articles within JSTOR**
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • New York Times - Historical (1851-2013)
      The New York Times (1851-2007) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty and staff.
    • Washington Post - Historical (1877-2000) (ProQuest)
      (1877-1994) Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    International Development

    • JSTOR
      Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The subjects can vary widely, such as Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies and Sociology.
      **NOTE: Gallaudet does not subscribe to every journal or articles within JSTOR**
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    Language/Linguistics

    • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
      Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media such as speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies, etc. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome (ComDisDome)
      Contains indexes and abstracts covering communications disorders literature. Areas include: Audiologic Management, Audiology, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Communication Mechanism and Systems, Electroneuronography, Hearing Assessment, Hearing Conservation, Hearing Impairment, Hearing Science, Pediatric Audiology, Professional Issues, Rehabilitative Audiology, Speech/Articulation, and Speech-Language Pathology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Encyclopedia of Language and Education
      Covers numerous subjects in the field of language and education. Each volume deals with a single substantial subject and includes topical reviews.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
      Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is also given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    Literature

    • Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
      Provides access to quality research journals and publications in areas related to communication and mass media such as speech, rhetoric, debate, broadcasting, and media studies, etc. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome (ComDisDome)
      Contains indexes and abstracts covering communications disorders literature. Areas include: Audiologic Management, Audiology, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Communication Mechanism and Systems, Electroneuronography, Hearing Assessment, Hearing Conservation, Hearing Impairment, Hearing Science, Pediatric Audiology, Professional Issues, Rehabilitative Audiology, Speech/Articulation, and Speech-Language Pathology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    Medical Sciences/Human Biology

    • Biology Journals
      Provides access to a wide range of topics in biology and life sciences such as biological chemistry, biophysics, environmental studies, and more. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
      A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Communication Sciences and Disorders Dome (ComDisDome)
      Contains indexes and abstracts covering communications disorders literature. Areas include: Audiologic Management, Audiology, Augmentative and Alternative Communication, Communication Mechanism and Systems, Electroneuronography, Hearing Assessment, Hearing Conservation, Hearing Impairment, Hearing Science, Pediatric Audiology, Professional Issues, Rehabilitative Audiology, Speech/Articulation, and Speech-Language Pathology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Pharmaceutical News Index
      Provides access to the latest information on medical technology, research, and legislative developments. The database contains bibliographic information and indexing for 22 key U.S.and international pharmaceutical, healthcare, biotechnology, medical device, and cosmetic industry newsletters.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PubMed Central
      A free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH), developed and managed by NIH's National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) in the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
      Open to the public
      Open to the public
    • ScienceDirect Journals
      To get the full text of a ScienceDirect article, click "Order document," complete the form using your Gallaudet e-mail address, and click "Send." The Library will purchase the article and email it to you.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Multi-Subject

    • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
      A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database, with more than 5,300 full text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Credo Reference
      Provides access to over 500 reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, quotations, thesauri and bilingual dictionaries. You?ll find entries in a wide range of subjects, such as the arts, business, humanities, biographies, history, law, literature, sciences, social sciences, foreign languages and technology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Directory of Open Access Journals
      This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. The aim is to cover all subjects and languages. There are over 3285 journals in the directory. Currently over 1063 journals are searchable at the article level and more than 175,000 articles are included in the DOAJ service.

      "Open access" journals are defined as journals that use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access.
      Open to the public
    • Dissertations & Theses @ Gallaudet University - WRLC
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Dissertations & Theses Global
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Encyclopedia Britannica Online (EBO)
      Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. A great reference resource on every subject available.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Films on Demand
      Offers thousands of hours of captioned streaming educational video for all skill levels in a wide array of disciplines.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • JSTOR
      Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The subjects can vary widely, such as Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies and Sociology.
      **NOTE: Gallaudet does not subscribe to every journal or articles within JSTOR**
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • LexisNexis Academic
      Comprehensive index to newspaper and magazine articles, radio and TV news program transcripts, legal material and other reference sources. Primarily focused on news, business and legal topics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • ProQuest Central
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • ProQuest Research Library
      Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    PE/Recreation

    • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
      A comprehensive index of health care, nursing, biomedicine, and related journals and other materials, with a focus on evidence based medicine. Includes about 15% full text documents.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Education Journals
      Offers a comprehensive research collection of more than 650 magazines and journals for K-12 professional development and continuing education--the ultimate resource to help teachers stay current in their profession.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
      A comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Psychology and Counseling

    • DSM Library
      Standard diagnostic tools for mental health professionals.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
      Descriptions and critical reviews of over 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence, attitude measures, aptitude measures, educational, speech and hearing, and sensory motor.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PsycARTICLES
      Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 25,000 searchable full text articles from 40 journals published by the APA and 9 from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PsycBOOKS
      Includes full-text books and chapters published by the American Psychological Association, including the Encyclopedia of psychology; and chapters from classic psychology-related texts back to the 1600s.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PsycEXTRA
      Includes technical reports; conference presentations; fact sheets; reports by national, state, regional, and international governmental and non-governmental organizations.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Psychology Journals
      This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • PsycINFO
      Indexes and abstracts professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines (psychiatry, education, linguistics, neurosciences, etc.).
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Reference

    • Credo Reference
      Provides access to over 500 reference books such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, quotations, thesauri and bilingual dictionaries. You?ll find entries in a wide range of subjects, such as the arts, business, humanities, biographies, history, law, literature, sciences, social sciences, foreign languages and technology.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Dissertations & Theses Global
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Encyclopedia Britannica Online (EBO)
      Online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. A great reference resource on every subject available.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Encyclopedia of Language and Education
      Covers numerous subjects in the field of language and education. Each volume deals with a single substantial subject and includes topical reviews.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Online Encyclopedias (available within Gale's Virtual Reference Library):
      • Encyclopedia of Disability,
      • Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics,
      • Gallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness, and
      • The SAGE Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods

      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Gallaudet University Library Guide to Deaf Biographies
      Created by Gallaudet Library, this guide contains well-known deaf and hard-of-hearing people, but a few hearing people who have been important to or influential on the deaf are included also. Unless specfically identified otherwise, a subject may be assumed to be deaf.
      NOTE: This guide is not comprehensive. Additional people and information about the people found in the guide can be found in various locations.
      Last updated April 2007
      Open to the public
    • Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
      An index to articles in selected deaf-related journals. Work on this database is an on-going project and additional years of coverage will be added from time to time.
      Last updated April 2007
      Open to the public
    • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
      The full text of the classic 22-volume Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd Edition, which provides information on the historical development of the language.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Statistical Abstracts of the United States
      The Statistical Abstract is the most authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
    • WorldCat
      OCLC (a company) WorldCat database is an online bibliographic catalog. It contains over 43 million records describing library holdings such as books, movies, articles and dissertations.

    Religion

    • Religion Database
      Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Science

    • AccessScience
      AccessScience is an authoritative online resource that contains reference material in all major scientific disciplines. It offers links to primary research material, videos, and animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers. With these and other online features, AccessScience demonstrates and explains core scientific information.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Biology Journals
      Provides access to a wide range of topics in biology and life sciences such as biological chemistry, biophysics, environmental studies, and more. The database includes over 285 titles, with more than 250 available in full text.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Science Journals
      Full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Social Science Journals
      Provides access to a variety of scientific journals that contain information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, urban studies, family studies, international relations, political science, public administration, sociology, and more.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff

    Social Work

    • Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20th ed.
      Restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
    • Social Work Abstracts
      Index to articles from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Social Work Reference Center
      Full text, evidence-based information about current social work best practices.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    Sociology

    • Social Science Journals
      Provides access to a variety of scientific journals that contain information on hundreds of topics, including: Addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, urban studies, family studies, international relations, political science, public administration, sociology, and more.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    • Sociology Database
      This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.

    Technology/Computer Science

    • ScienceDirect Journals
      To get the full text of a ScienceDirect article, click "Order document," complete the form using your Gallaudet e-mail address, and click "Send." The Library will purchase the article and email it to you.
      Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip