Online resources -- Gallaudet
Gallaudet University Library:
- Guide to Deaf Biographies
This database was produced by librarians at the Gallaudet University Library. It contains brief summaries of and references to biographical information for thousands of people who are deaf, hard-of-hearing, or hearing with ties to the Deaf community. If you use information from this database and need to cite it, look at Citing Information from the Gallaudet Univeristy Library Guide to Deaf Biographies.
- Index to Deaf Periodicals
This database was created by librarians at the Gallaudet University Library. It is a list of articles from these journals: Deaf American; Deaf American Monographs; Deaf Life; DeafNation; and Silent Worker.
- Cued Speech and R. Orin Cornett: A Select Bibliography
A select bibliography of materials related to R. Orin Cornett and Cued Speech. It is divided into sections based on the type of materials, which include books, journals, journal articles, dissertations and theses, ERIC documents, videos, etc. It was produced to supplement the R. Orin Cornett Memorial Cued Speech Collection, a digital collection of manuscripts and other documents.
- The Silent Worker, 1888-1929
The Silent Worker was a popular national newspaper among the deaf population of the United States from February 1888 until it ceased in June 1929. The Gallaudet University Archives has converted its collection of The Silent Worker into digital format and made it available on the Internet for public research.
Gallaudet University -- Other Units:
- Gallaudet Video Catalog
A collection of videos that can be watched over the Internet. Managed by the Academic Technology unit of ATLAS, this collection includes much of interest for researchers of deaf culture. There are episodes of the Emmy-award-winningDeaf Mosaic, films on events in Deaf history, student productions, and much more.
- Info to Go
Gallaudet University's Laurent Clerc National Deaf Education Center: "A centralized source of accurate, up-to-date, objective information on topics dealing with deafness and hearing loss in the age group of 0-21. Info to Go responds to a wide range of questions received from the general public, deaf and hard of hearing people, their families, and professionals who work with them. Info to Go collects, develops, and disseminates information on deafness, hearing loss, and services and programs related to children with hearing loss from birth to age 21."