This is the "Library resources" page of the "Interpreting for the Deaf Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Interpreting for the Deaf Research Guide   Tags: deaf, research guide  

This guide offers some basic ideas and strategies for getting started on researching the topic of sign language interpreting.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=352329 Print Guide RSS Updates

Library resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Searching

BOOKS

Books are good places to get in-depth information and the historical background of a topic. Books are not good places to find recent information, except for current directories. Hint: Don't forget to check the bibliography (list of resources) at the end of most books to find other suggestions of where to find information!

To find the Gallaudet Library's books on interpreting for the deaf, use the WRLC Catalog to perform a Keyword (AND, OR, NOT) search using:

  • interpreting AND deaf

To find more specific aspects of interpreting, try adding a term for that aspect to your keyword search. Some examples are (including quotation marks):

  • interpreting AND deaf AND communication
  • interpreting AND deaf AND "educational programs"
  • interpreting AND deaf AND "legal problems"
  • interpreting AND deaf AND oral
  • interpreting AND deaf AND "sign language"

PERIODICALS

Periodicals can be used to find recent information on topics. They can also provide an interesting historical perspective. For example, if you are interested in the certification requirements for interpreters in 1978, you could use an index to find articles published in 1978 that reflect the standards of that time, and compare it with a similar but more recently published article.

You can find periodical articles using online databases as well. The Gallaudet University Library subscribes to a large number of those databases, which you can find listed here. The majority of the listed databases are accessible only to Gallaudet students, staff, and faculty.

Most printed indexes are located in Deaf Periodicals on the first floor of the Library, across from the Service Desk, most often shelved with their publications (if they exist at all). .

Online databases

For finding information on interpreting, you can use the following terms in a Keyword search:

  • interpreters deafness
  • interpretive skills deafness
  • interpreting sign language
  • interpreting oral
  • interpreters and deaf
  • interpreting and deaf

The Gallaudet University Library's own Index to deaf periodicals database can lead you to several articles about interpreting in several popular deaf periodicals. Click on the Deaf-related Resources button, then on Index to Deaf Periodicals. In a Keyword...Subject search, use these terms:

  • interpreters
  • interpreting and deaf

Newsletters

Newsletters are so short, and published for such a small local area, that they are not covered by periodical indexes. The Gallaudet University Library subscribes to several newsletters about interpreting in different localities. Browsing through them can give you ideas about current trends and problems shared by interpreters everywhere. Interpreting newsletters may be found through the  WRLC Catalog by performing a Keyword (AND, OR, NOT) search using these terms:

  • interpreters AND deaf AND periodicals

OTHER RESOURCES

Videos

You can find videos about interpreting for the deaf through the WRLC Catalog  by performing a Keyword (AND, OR, NOT) search using these terms:

  • interpreting AND "sign language" AND videorecording
  • interpreting AND oral AND videorecording

Deaf Subject Files

Vertical files include materials such as newspaper clippings, brochures, maps, poetry, and other non-book printed materials. To find vertical file materials about interpreting for the deaf, look in the Deaf Subject Files on the first floor of the Library, next to the Deaf Stacks. These files are kept locked. To use them, ask a Library staff member or student worker for help. Try the following subject headings:

  • Interpreting for the Deaf
  • Interpreting for the Deaf-Alaska [or other state name]
  • Interpreting for the Deaf-Study and teaching
  • Court Litigation-Interpreting for the Deaf
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip