This is the "World Games for the Deaf/Deaflympics" page of the "FAQ: Deaf Sports " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

FAQ: Deaf Sports   Tags: deaf, faq  

This guide offers a background of sports in deaf history, particularly with respect to international competition.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=352106 Print Guide RSS Updates

World Games for the Deaf/Deaflympics Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Games results: Bibliography

Formal international athletic competitions among the deaf began in 1924. These games have had three official names:

  • International Games for the Deaf, 1924-1965[alternately, International Silent Games]
  • World Games for the Deaf, 1966-1999[alternately but rarely, World Silent Games]
  • Deaflympics, 2000-

Though they are commonly called the "Deaf Olympics," that has never been an official name for these games, since the International Olympic Committee has always refused to allow the use of the "Olympics" name for the deaf competitions. The main or "summer" games have been held on a quadrennial basis, except for 3 years between 1928 and 1931 (when the scheduling of the games was adjusted to avoid conflict with the International Olympic Games) and for the 10 years between 1939 and 1949 (caused by the disruptions of World War II). Paralleling the Winter Olympics, world winter games for the deaf were introduced beginning 1949, also on a quadrennial schedule except for the 2 years between the 3rd (1957) and 4th (1959) Winter Games. This was done to put the Winter Games on a new schedule that did not conflict with the main deaf Games. Thus, the deaf Games now occur every two years, alternating between the main "summer" Games and the Winter Games and in the years between the regular Olympics and Winter Olympics.

Official results

A compilation of all official results for the first (1924) through fourteenth (1981) [summer] Games are on pages 37-78 of Handbook, 1975-1985: Comité International des Sports des Sourds = International Committee of Sports for the Deaf. [Mortdale, NSW, Australia: Printed by Carruthers Printing Service], 1985. (DEAF 796.06 L6c 1985).

There are also the following reported results for individual Games:

  • International Games for the Deaf
    1. 1st (1924: Paris, France): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    2. 2nd (1928: Amsterdam, The Netherlands): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    3. 3rd (1931: Nuremberg [Nürnberg], Germany): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    4. 4th (1935: London, Great Britain): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    5. 5th (1939: Stockholm, Sweden): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    6. 6th (1949: Copenhagen, Denmark): Annuaire=Handbook: Comité International des Sports Silencieux=International Committee of the Silent Sports, 1959-1966. [s.l., s.n.], 1967. (DEAF 796.06 C6a 1959/66). Pages 96-131 [gold medal winners only].
    7. 7th (1953: Brussels, Belgium): Silent worker, vol. 6 no.5, January 1954, p.22-27 [gold medal winners only].
    8. 8th (1957: Milan, Italy): Silent worker, vol.10 no.2-3, October-November 1957, p.20-26. Also: British deaf news, vol.2, 1957-59, p.82-83.
    9. 9th (1961: Helsinki, Finland): Silent worker, vol.14 no.2, October 1961, p.26-30. Also: British deaf news, vol.3, 1960-62, p.161-163.
    10. 10th (1965: Washington, DC): Deaf American, vol. 18 no.1, September 1965, p.15-22; vol.18 no.2, October 1965, p.7-12; vol. 18 no.3, November 1965, p.16-22.

     

  • World Games for the Deaf
    1. 11th (1969: Belgrade, Yugoslavia): Deaf American, vol.22 no.2, October 1969, p.19-25; vol.22 no.3, November 1969, p.25-29; vol.22 no.4, December 1969, p.20-26. Also: XIth World Games of the Deaf... [Beograd: Savenog odbora saveza gluvih Jugoslavije, 1971] (DEAF 796 W6j 1971; Copy 1 only)
    2. 12th (1973: Malmö, Sweden): Deaf American, vol.26 no.2, October 1973, p.17-20; vol.26 no.3, November 1973, p.30-31; vol.26 no.4, December 1973, p.19-24.
    3. 13th (1977: Bucharest, Romania): Deaf American, vol.30 no.l, September 1977, p.16-22; vol.30 no.3, November 1977, p.33-41; vol.30 no.4, December 1977, p.19-29. Also: Buletin informativ: XIII World Games for the Deaf. [Bucharest, Romania: Asociata Surzilor din R.S. Romana, 1977]. [set of 15 booklets.] (DEAF 796.48 W67b 1977; Copy 1 only).
    4. 14th (1981: Cologne, Germany): Deaf American, vol.34 no.2, 1981, p.26-34; vol.34 no.5, 1982, p.31-35; vol.34 no.6, 1982, p.33; vol.34 no.7, 1982, p.34-36. Also: 14. Weltspiele der Gehörlosen Köln 1981: Results. [Cologne?:] Rank-Xerox Kopier-Service [1981?]. [set of 12 booklets, each for a different sport.] (DEAF 796.48 F68 1981; Copy 1 only).
    5. 15th (1985: Santa Monica/Los Angeles, California): XV World Games for the Deaf: commemorative edition. Rochester, New York: Silent News, 1987. (DEAF 796.48 W6f 1985), p.399-425.
    6. 16th (1989: Christchurch, New Zealand): No published results found.
    7. 17th (1993: Sofia, Bulgaria): Deaf sports review [special issue], vol.3 no.3, Summer/Fall 1994, p.24-27. (On reserve). Also: CISS bulletin, no.174-175, December 1994. (DEAF Periodicals).
    8. 18th (1997: Copenhagen, Denmark): 18th World Games for the Deaf results. [s.l., s.n., 1997?] (DEAF 796.48 W6e 1997. Also: DeafNation, vol.2 no.12, September 1997, p.15-18.

     

  • Summer Deaflympics
    1. 19th (2001: Rome, Italy): Online at http://www.deaflympics.com/. Also: Silent News, vol.33 no.9, September 2001, section B (USA results only).
    2. 20th (2005: Melbourne, Australia)
    3. 21st (2009: Taipei, Taiwan)
    4. 22nd (2013: Sofia, Bulgaria)

 

* * * * * * * * * *

Prepared by Tom Harrington
Reference and Instruction Librarian
June, 2002

Updated by James McCarthy
Instruction & Reference Librarian
July 2012

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip