This is the "Archival resources" page of the "Gallaudet University: Institutional History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gallaudet University: Institutional History   Tags: deaf, faq, research guide  

This guide is for those beginning to research Gallaudet's rich history of almost 150 years.
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/gallaudet_history Print Guide RSS Updates

Archival resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources in Archives

The Deaf Collections and Archives has many collections that contain photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, letters, diaries, artwork, films and more.  For more information visit the Archives in the MLC's basement or at http://archives.gallaudet.edu/.  Archive hours are:  Monday - Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. For more information, send an e-mail to: Archives@Gallaudet.edu.

Deaf Biographical File contains biographical information of Deaf individuals from around the world. One must identify names who were Gallaudet students as not every person in the file was a Gallaudet student.  The biographical information may contain items about their days on the campus.  Materials may be from newspaper and magazine clippings, pamphlets, pictures, and other materials.  For some individuals, this may be the only information available. 

To access the File, check the Library's Catalog to identify specific names and to retrieve the materials ask for assistance from the Library Service Desk.  This File is located near the Deaf Stacks on the first floor.  The Deaf Collections and Archival staff maintains this file. 

Gallaudetiana File has information about various topics.  Included are student activities such as Rat Funeral, Senior Sneak Trip, and Sadie Hawkin's Day and organizations like the  Gallaudet Dance Company, Hillel Society, Miss Gallaudet Pageant, and class activities.

This file is located in the Archives; the Archives hours are Monday through Friday, 9am - 5pm.   

The Gallaudet University Archives' Photography Collection is indexed in two different groups:

  • Photograph Index
  • Portraits Indexes

In addition, some selected photographs and portraits can be viewed online.

There are photograph albums donated by alumni that include glimpses of students.  Search in the Library's Catalog or inquire in the Archives.  Albums are not online.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip