This is the "Introduction" page of the "Performing Arts at Gallaudet" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Performing Arts at Gallaudet   Tags: deaf, research guide  

Song, dance, and theatrical performances are the subject of this LibGuide. Performances may be Gallaudet productions or from off-campus organizations.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=228140 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Various and numerous performing-art events have taken place at Kendall Green through the years.  Many photographs and other materials are available that record some of this history.  Later, film and video-recordings provided the opportunity to preserve those productions. 

In the Deaf community performing arts-- such as dance, signing songs, and dramatic or theatrical performances-- are a large part of Deaf culture. Through donations, many items have been given and now preserved at the University Archives. Over the years, Deaf people wrote articles about the cultural events that were published in various Deaf publications.    

Today, more Deaf performers or producers have been producing videotapes or DVDs of their work that have been made available either through Youtube or by purchasing.  It is a goal of the Deaf Collection to include the DVDs of those performances. 

Many items can be located in the Library's Catalog, but check the contents of this LibGuide for additional collections. Items are in various collections: Deaf Stacks, Gallaudet University Video Catalog, Deaf Periodicals, the Archives' Photograph Collections, various files, and manuscript collections.   

Films and videos are located in two collections:  Gallaudet University Video Catalog and DEAF DVD/Video Stacks

Gallaudet Video Catalog: Through the years, deaf people have used film and video to preserve not only sign language, but Deaf events or performances. These materials are accessible online from the Video Catalog or the Library's Catalog.  Currently, 16mm films and U-matic tapes are being preserved and digitalized into the Video Catalog.  For more information, see the Gallaudet University Video Catalog box in this LibGuide.

Deaf DVD/Video Collection:  The DVD collection includes works mostly by commercial producers.    New videos are continuously added to the DEAF DVD collection.  Use the Library's Catalog to locate materials.

 

Contact a librarian

I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email:
library.help@gallaudet.edu

Phone: 
Videophone 202-779-9478
Voice 202-651-5217

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip