This is the "Archival resources" page of the "Student Life at Gallaudet University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Student Life at Gallaudet University   Tags: deaf, gallaudet history, research guide  

Frequently, students and alumni search for information about the "good old days" at Kendall Green. This guide includes various resources and materials on Gallaudet's student life.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=223288 Print Guide RSS Updates

Archival resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources in Archives

The Deaf Collections and Archives has many collections that contain photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, letters, diaries, artwork, films and more.  For more information visit the Archives in the MLC's lower level or at http://archives.gallaudet.edu/.  Archive hours are:  Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm. For more information, send an e-mail to: Archives@Gallaudet.edu

Deaf Biographical File, Gallaudetiana File

Deaf Biographical File contains biographical information of Deaf individuals from around the world. One must identify names who were Gallaudet students as not every person in the file was a Gallaudet student.  The biographical information may contain items about their days on the campus.  Materials may be from newspaper and magazine clippings, pamphlets, pictures, and other materials.  For some individuals, this may be the only information available. 

To access the File, check the ALADIN Catalog to identify specific names and to retrieve the materials ask for assistance from the Library Service Desk.  This File is located near the Deaf Stacks on the first floor.  The Deaf Collections and Archival staff maintains this file. 

Gallaudetiana File has information about various topics.  Included are student activities such as Rat Funeral, Senior Sneak Trip, and Sadie Hawkin's Day and organizations like the  Gallaudet Dance Company, Hillel Society, Miss Gallaudet Pageant, and class activities.

This file is located in the Archives; the Archives hours are Monday through Friday, 9am - 5pm.   

Identifying Gallaudet students

Former students and alumni have not only spent their years studying while on campus but have also made other contributions via their leadership; hence, biographical information may be available for some students or alumni.  Biographical information may appear in various formats and searching in all of the collections and databases is highly recommended. 

Some students and alumni have chosen to contribute their artifacts or materials of their student days, such as: photographs, photograph albums, letters, diaries and other memorabilia. Often family members or friends donate materials as well.

To identify former Gallaudet students or alumni  by name, use:

  • Gallaudet University Alumni Directory
  • Alumni Cards 1866-1961.  For years after 1961, see the Archives staff for information.
  • Gallaudet Almanac 

Photographs

The Gallaudet University Archives Photograph Collection has 2 parts for searching:

  • Photograph Index
  • Portraits Indexes

In addition, some selected photographs and portraits can be viewed online.  Photograph albums donated by alumni may contain relevant photographs.  Ask for assistance in the Archives to review the collections.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip