This is the "Introduction" page of the "Student Life at Gallaudet University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Student Life at Gallaudet University   Tags: deaf, gallaudet history, research guide  

Frequently, students and alumni search for information about the "good old days" at Kendall Green. This guide includes various resources and materials on Gallaudet's student life.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=223288 Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction & Selected Bibliography

Introduction

In 1864 Congress passed the Enabling Act which granted the Columbia Institute for the Instruction of the Deaf, Dumb and the Blind to confer collegiate degrees.  In 2014 Gallaudet University will celebrate 150 years of existence.  Many student activities, sporting events, theatrical productions, development of organizations, and student traditions or customs have occurred during this time.  Unfortunately, most of Gallaudet's rich history is in a countless number of publications and film productions.  These primary resources are in various small collections within The Library Deaf Collections & Archives.  This guide attempts to identify and assist the researcher in their projects. 

Selected bibliography

The Gallaudet University Library and Deaf Collections & Archives has a wealth of information on its students and student life.  Some examples of various resources are:

  • Books on the institutional history: 
    • Fair Change in the Race of Life: the Role of Gallaudet University in Deaf History by Brian H. Greenwald and John Vickery Van Cleve.
    • Gallaudet College, its first one hundred years by Albert W. Atwood
    • History of the College for the Deaf, 1857-1907 by Edward Miner Gallaudet
    • Our heritage: Gallaudet College Centennial
    • Voice of the deaf: a biography of Edward Miner Gallaudet by Maxine T. Boatner
  • Biographical books: 
    • Deaf in DC: a memoir by Madan Vasishta
    • Lessons in Laughter by Bernard Bragg
    • Moments of truth: Robert R. Davila, the story of a deaf leader by Harry Lang
    • My yesterdays; in a changing world of the deaf by Mervin Garretson
    •  I knew Elizabeth Peet: Queen of Gallaudet by Frances M. Parsons
  • Dissertations or theses: Don't take any aprons to college by Nancy Carolyn Jones
  • Student publications: Buff and Blue, Tower Clock, History Club Journal, Knob Hill News, and North West Campus Yearbook.
  • Class research projects:  Herstory, Herstory Continues I and II and Deaf Women Faculty
  • Photograph albums: Photograph album of Frances Margaret Parsons
  • Film or video-recordings:
    • My Prep Year with Agnes Sutcliffe and Gallaudet Experience (2 versions)  with Tom Dowling and Nicky Elliott
    • Why Gallaudet College First Year Students Grow Beards
    • Commencement Ceremonies of various years
 

Contact a librarian

I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Email:
library.help@gallaudet.edu

Phone: 
Videophone 202-779-9478

Help Request Form

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip