Deaf Copy One
Veditz Collection FilmsResearching the Veditz CollectionGallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and DeafnessArchival items
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Gallaudet University Guide To Deaf BiographiesDeaf Biographical Files
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Oldest Deaf FilmsVeditz Collection FilmsSilent Worker
This is the "Silent Films, 1900-1929" page of the "Deaf Films" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Deaf Films   Tags: deaf, faq, research guide  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=120564 Print Guide RSS Updates

Silent Films, 1900-1929 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Silent Films, 1900-1929

The silent era of Deaf film is chiefly comprised of films produced by the Deaf community and the motion picture industry.

      Deaf community films include the important works by George Veditz and the National Association of the Deaf.

      The collaboration between the two produced the invaluable Veditz Collection.

      The Silent Worker, a National Association of the Deaf publication, is a good place to search for articles about the Veditz Collection.

            Film studios produced a number of films that either featured Deaf actors or were affiliated with the Deaf community.  Information about specific films and/or actors can be tough to find. The sources listed below are good places to begin.

            Online databases
            (if you are off campus, you will have to log on).

            Gallaudet University Encyclopedia of Deaf People and Deafness 

            ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times (1851 - 2006)

            Washington Post - Historical (ProQuest)

            The Silent Worker

            Print
            Both the Deaf Stacks and University Reference Stacks are located on the first floor. Ask for help at the Library Service Desk.  Books from the University Reference Stacks may not be borrowed.

            Hollywood speaks: deafness and the film entertainment industry
            (UNIV DEAF stacks: 791.4363527 S3h, 1988).

            Magills Survey of Cinema:Silent Films
            (UNIV REFERENCE Stacks: 791.43 M3, 1982 3 volumes).

              Subject Guide

              Profile Image
              Patrick Oberholtzer
              Contact Info
              Gallaudet University Library
              Merrill Learning Center Room 1303
              800 Florida Ave., N.E.
              Washington, D.C. 20002
              202-651-5233V/TTY
              202-651-5213 FAX
              AIM: walrusandthe
              Send Email
               
              Description

              Loading  Loading...

              Tip