Deaf Copy One
Veditz Collection FilmsResearching the Veditz CollectionGallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and DeafnessArchival items
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Gallaudet University Guide To Deaf BiographiesDeaf Biographical Files
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Oldest Deaf FilmsVeditz Collection FilmsSilent Worker
This is the "Classic Hollywood, 1930-1989" page of the "Deaf Films" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Deaf Films   Tags: deaf, faq, research guide  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=120564 Print Guide RSS Updates

Classic Hollywood, 1930-1989 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Classic Hollywood, 1930-1989

Print
The book Hollywood Speaks is an excellent source. The filmography provides a comprehensive list of Deaf Hollywood films from the silent era to the 1988. The Deaf Stacks are located on the first floor of the Library, if you need help ask at the Library Service Desk.

Hollywood Speaks: Deafness and the Film Entertainment Industry (GA: UNIV DEAF Stacks 791.4363527 S3h, 1988)

Online
Deaf films produced from 1930 until 1989 can be best researched using databases that include articles going back many years, such as:
(if you are off campus, you will have to log on).

  • Washington Post - Historical (1877-2000) (ProQuest)
    (1877-1994) Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff.
  • Gallaudet University Library Guide to Deaf Biographies
    Created by Gallaudet Library, this guide contains well-known deaf and hard-of-hearing people, but a few hearing people who have been important to or influential on the deaf are included also. Unless specfically identified otherwise, a subject may be assumed to be deaf.
    NOTE: This guide is not comprehensive. Additional people and information about the people found in the guide can be found in various locations.
    Last updated April 2007
    Open to the public

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patrick Oberholtzer
Contact Info
Gallaudet University Library
Merrill Learning Center Room 1303
800 Florida Ave., N.E.
Washington, D.C. 20002
202-651-5233V/TTY
202-651-5213 FAX
AIM: walrusandthe
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip