Deaf Copy One
Veditz Collection FilmsResearching the Veditz CollectionGallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and DeafnessArchival items
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Gallaudet University Guide To Deaf BiographiesDeaf Biographical Files
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Oldest Deaf FilmsVeditz Collection FilmsSilent Worker
This is the "George W. Veditz Collection" page of the "Deaf Films" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Deaf Films   Tags: deaf, faq, research guide  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=120564 Print Guide RSS Updates

George W. Veditz Collection Print Page
  Search: 
 

George W. Veditz Collection

The George W. Veditz Collection is a group of films that were produced by the National Association of the Deaf from 1910 through 1921, for the preservation of "excellent examples" of sign language. The N.A.D. was concerned that "pure" sign language might disappear under the pressures of oralism, and made these films so that future generations might see master signers of the past. In 1965, the N.A.D. transferred these films to Gallaudet University for preservation and to make them more available to people.

In the mid-1980s, this historic N.A.D. film collection was named in honor of Veditz, who had been President of the N.A.D. and who was a lifelong champion for sign language over oralism. This collection contains 15 films in their entirety, without voice-over, captioning, or introductions. (Gallaudet Library call no. VHS 1582). All the individual films are silent, black and white, and very short, none more than 10 minutes long.

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Patrick Oberholtzer
    Contact Info
    Gallaudet University Library
    Merrill Learning Center Room 1303
    800 Florida Ave., N.E.
    Washington, D.C. 20002
    202-651-5233V/TTY
    202-651-5213 FAX
    AIM: walrusandthe
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip