Deaf Copy One
Veditz Collection FilmsResearching the Veditz CollectionGallaudet Encyclopedia of Deaf People and DeafnessArchival items
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Gallaudet University Guide To Deaf BiographiesDeaf Biographical Files
Articles & DissertationsGallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals
Oldest Deaf FilmsVeditz Collection FilmsSilent Worker
This is the "Articles & Dissertations" page of the "Deaf Films" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Deaf Films   Tags: deaf, faq, research guide  

Last Updated: Sep 8, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/content.php?pid=120564 Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & Dissertations Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles and Dissertations

When searching the databases listed here, consider using the following search strategies:

Try the keywords: deaf and film

Try the phrase: deaf in motion pictures

Try the keywords: deaf and motion pictures

Search the title of a film

These databases offer access to a variety of journals, magazines and newspaper articles.  If you are off campus, you will have to log on

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary, scholarly database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. TIP: Watch out for book reviews! To exclude them, look for the "advanced search" link underneath the search box and click on it. Go to the right side of the page and look for the "document type" box and select "article."
  • Dissertations & Theses Global
    Access restricted to Gallaudet students, faculty, and staff
  • LexisNexis Academic
    LexisNexis is an excellent current awareness tool. It indexes newspaper from the United States and nations around the world. Articles are added daily. If you are looking for a review or information about a new or recent film, try LexisNexis first. TIP: Enter the title of the motion picture or film you are researching. Don't forget to ask a librarian for help -- LexisNexis can be tricky to search.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    An all-purpose academic database. TIP: you will find many book reviews here. To eliminate them, click on the "more search options" link at the bottom of the page. Scroll down and look for "exclude from results" and check the box before "book reviews."
 

Contact a Librarian

I'm not the only librarian who can help you. Please use the information below to contact the Library's Service Desk.

Email:

library.help@gallaudet.edu

Phone: 

Videophone 866-957-4416

Voice 202-651-5217

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip