EuropeAfricaAmericasAsiaMiddle EastOceania
Sign Languages: A-HSign Languages: I-RSign Languages: S-Z
This is the "Sign languages of the world by name" page of the "Sign Language" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sign Language   Tags: deaf, faq  

A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/sign_language Print Guide RSS Updates

Sign languages of the world by name Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sign languages of the world by name

To see a list of these Sign Languages arranged by country, see the page and sub-pages of "Sign Languages of the World, by Country," accessible through the bright-yellow tab at the top of this page.

114 sign languages derived from the Ethnologue database (www.ethnologue.com/, 11/8/01, "Browse the Web Version" link); 157 more sign languages, systems and dialects, and references, added by Thomas R. Harrington, Gallaudet University Library. Total, 271 identified sign languages, dialects, and other sign systems.

Where possible, bibliographic references are given for one representative major dictionary and one major or pioneering scholarly study of that sign language or system, or in some cases to the only published reference that could be found. No pretense of bibliographic completeness is made, nor is a bibliographic listing here to be considered a recommendation. Citations are provided only as a starting point for research on that sign language or system. Most citations were obtained from materials in the collection of the Gallaudet University Library, but some were drawn from the International bibliography of sign language, www.sign-lang.uni-hamburg.de/bibweb/.

The listing of sign languages by name has been divided into three major groups: A-H; I-R; and S-Z. Please use the drop-down menu from the yellow tab for this page to navigate to those sub-groups.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip