EuropeAfricaAmericasAsiaMiddle EastOceania
Sign Languages: A-HSign Languages: I-RSign Languages: S-Z
This is the "Sign Languages: S-Z" page of the "Sign Language" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sign Language   Tags: deaf, faq  

A collection of commonly-asked questions about sign languages, particularly American Sign Language.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2017 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/sign_language Print Guide RSS Updates

Sign Languages: S-Z Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Sign Languages of the World by Name: I-R

S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

S

Saigon Sign Language = Ho Chi Minh City Sign Language: Vietnam

Salto Sign Language = DIALECT of Uruguayan Sign Language: Uruguay

Salvadoran Sign Language = El Salvadoran Sign Language: El Salvador

Samoa Sign Language: Samoa Islands

  • DICTIONARY: Cabbage, Don, and John Peterson (2002?). Samoan Sign Language, volume I. El Paso, Texas: International Communication Publishers.

São Paulo Sign Language = DIALECT of Brazilian Sign Language: Brazil

Saudi Arabian Sign Language: Saudi Arabia

Sawmill Sign Language: Canada, United States

  • DICTIONARY: Meissner, Martin, and Stuart B. Philpott (1975a). "A dictionary of sawmill workers' signs." Sign language studies, no.9, p.309-347.
  • STUDY: Meissner, Martin, and Stuart B. Philpott (1975b). "The sign language of sawmill workers in British Columbia." Sign language studies, no.9, p.291-308.

Scandinavian Pidgin Sign Language: Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden

School Sign Language = Polish Finger Language: Poland

Scuba Sign Language = Underwater Sign Language: United States

Seeing Essential English (SEE I) (defunct): United States

  • STUDY: Anthony, David (1973). "Seeing Essential English", in Gustason, Gerilee, and Woodward, James C., eds., Recent developments in manual English. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College, p.13-26.

Seeing Essential Polish = DIALECT of Polish Finger Language: Poland

Selangor Sign Language: Malaysia

Seraglio Sign Language (defunct): Turkey / Ottoman Empire

  • STUDY: Mirzoeff, Nicholas (1995). "Framed: the deaf in the harem," in Terry, Jennifer, and Jacqueline Urla, Deviant bodies: critical perspectives on difference in science and popular culture. Bloomington, Indiana: Indiana University Press, p.49-77.

Serbian Sign Language = DIALECT of Yugoslavian Sign Language: Yugoslavia

Sfàt ha-simaním ha-israelít = Israeli Sign Language: Israel

Shanghai Sign Language = DIALECT of Chinese Sign Language: China, Singapore

  • STUDY: Taylor, Allan R. (1956). The Shanghai gesture. (Folklore Fellows Communication No. 166). Helsinki: [s.n.]

Shuwa = Japanese Sign Language: Japan

Sicilian Sign Language: Italy

  • REPORT: Dumas, Alexander (1859 April). "Use of the language of signs by the Sicilians." American Annals of the Deaf and Dumb, v.11, no.2, p.124-126

Siena Sign Language = DIALECT of Italian Sign Language: Italy

Sign Language of the Netherlands = Dutch Sign Language: Netherlands

Sign Supported Dutch: Netherlands

  • STUDY: Fortgens, Connie, and Harry Knoors (1994). "Distinguishing between Sign Language of the Netherlands and Sign Supported Dutch," in Bogaerde, Beppie van den; Harry Knoors; and Maaike Verrips, eds., Language acquisition with non-native input. Amsterdam: University of Amsterdam, p.93-117.

Sign Supported English (SSE): Great Britain

Sign Urdu: Pakistan

Signed Afrikaans: South Africa

Signed Danish: Denmark

  • STUDY: Hansen, Britta (1980). "Can signed Danish as it is used by the deaf themselves be an appropriate mode of communication between deaf and hearing people?: an analysis of some characteristics in signed Danish," in Ahlgren, Inger, and Brita Bergman, eds., Papers from the First International Symposium on Sign Language Research, June 10-16, 1979, Skepparholmen, Sweden. Leksand, Sweden: Sveriges Dövas Riksförbund, p.179-189.

Signed English: United States, Canada

  • DICTIONARY: Bornstein, Harry L. et al. (1975). The Signed English dictionary for preschool and elementary levels, revised and expanded ed. Washington: Gallaudet College Press.
  • STUDY: Bornstein, Harry (1973). "Signed English: an aid to English language development", in Gustason, Gerilee, and Woodward, James C., eds., Recent developments in manual English. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College, p.49-65.

Signed Finnish: Finland

Signed French: Canada

Signed French: France (le Français Signé)

  • STUDY: Mottez, Bernard (1984). "Français signé." Coup d'il, v.8 no.39, p.16-19.

Signed German: Switzerland

Signed German = Speech-Accompanied Signs: Germany

Signed Japanese = Manually Coded Japanese: Japan

Signed Mandarin: Taiwan

Signed Norwegian: Norway

Signed Portuguese: Portugal

Signed Spanish: Puerto Rico

Signed Swedish: Sweden, Finland

  • STUDY: Bergman, Brita (1979). Signed Swedish: educational research. Stockholm: Liber.

Signing Exact English (SEE II): United States, Singapore

  • STUDY: Gustason, Gerilee (1973). "Signing Exact English", in Gustason, Gerilee, and James C. Woodward, eds., Recent developments in manual English. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet College, p.38-48.

Signing Exact Polish = DIALECT of Polish Finger Language: Poland

Singapore Sign Language: Singapore

  • DICTIONARY: Singapore Association for the Deaf Sign Language Committee (1990). Sign for Singapore. Singapore: Time Books International.

Simultaneous Methodic Signs = Manually Coded Japanese: Japan

Slovakian Sign Language: Slovakia

  • DICTIONARY: Pät prstekov na ruke: obrázková kniha a posunková rec pre najmensoe nepocujúce deti (1994). Bratislava: Vydavatel'stvo BUVIK.

Slovenian Sign Language = DIALECT of Yugoslavian Sign Language: Slovenia

  • DICTIONARY: Slovar slovenskega znakovnega jezika (2000). [CD-ROM]. Lubljana: Zoom Promotion.

South African Sign Language: South Africa.

  • DICTIONARY: Penn, Claire (1994). Dictionary of Southern African signs for communicating with the deaf. [s.l.]: Human Sciences Research Council.
  • STUDY: Penn, C., and Timothy Reagan (1994). "The properties of South African Sign Language: lexical diversity and syntactic unity." Sign language studies, 85:317-25.

South African Indian Sign Language: DIALECT of South African Sign Language: South Africa

  • STUDY: Saleh, S. (1986). Signs used by pupils and teachers at the Lenasia School for the Deaf: a comparative study. Thesis. Johannesburg: Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology, University of the Witwatersrand.

South Belgian Sign Language = DIALECT of Belgian Sign Language: Belgium

Southern French Sign Language = Marseilles Sign Language, DIALECT of French Sign Language: France

Spanish Sign Language: Spain

  • DICTIONARY: Pinedo Peydró, Félix Jesús (2000). Diccionario de Lengua de Signos Española. [Madrid]: Confederacion Nacional de Sordos de España.
  • STUDY: Martínez Sánchez, Francisco (2002). Apuntes de lingüística de la Lengua de Signos Española. Madrid : Fundación CNSE para la supresión de las barreras de comunicación.

Speech-Accompanied Signs: Germany

  • STUDY: Hogger, Birgit (1991). "Linguistische Überlegungen zur lautsprachbegleitenden Gebärdung." Hörgeschädigtenpädagogik, v.45 no.4, p.234-237.

Speech-Supported Signs: Switzerland

Sri Lankan Sign Language: Sri Lanka

  • DICTIONARY: Sri Lankan Sign Dictionary (1989). Maharagama, Sri Lanka: National Institute of Education.
  • STUDY: Schroeder, Odd-Inge (1986). "Tegnsprog og de doves forhold på Sri Lanka." Døves tidskrift, v.38.

Suomalainen viittomakieli = Finnish Sign Language: Finland

Swedish Sign Language: Sweden, Tanzania

  • DICTIONARY: Sveriges Dövas Riksförbund (1998). Svenst teckensråkslexikon. Örebro: Tryckmakarna.
  • STUDY: Bergman, Brita (1977). Tecknad svenska. Vällingsby: LiberLäromedel/Utbildnungsförlaget.

Swiss-French Sign Language: Switzerland

  • DICTIONARY: La langue des signes de Suisse romande [DVD]. Geneva, Switzerland: Fédération Suisse des Sourds Région-Romande, 2004.
  • STUDY: Boyes Braem, Penny et al. (1989). "Une comparison de techniques pour exprimer des rôles sémantiques et des relations locatives dans les langues des signes suisse-française et italienne," in Quertinmont, Sophie, and Filip Loncke, eds., Études européennes en langues des signes. Bruxelles: EDIRSA, p.111-140.

Swiss-German Sign Language: Switzerland

  • DICTIONARY: Illustration der Grundgebärden der deutschweizerischen Gebärdensprache (1992). Zürich: Schweizerischen Gehörlosenbund Region Deutschschweiz.
  • STUDY: Boyes Braem, Penny (1984). "Studying Swiss German sign language dialects," in Loncke, Filip; Boyes Braem, Penny; and Lebrun, Yvan, eds., Recent research on European sign languages: proceedings of the European Meeting of Sign Language Research, held in Brussels, September 19-25, 1982. Lisse: Swets & Zeitlinger, p 93-103.

Swiss-Italian Sign Language: Switzerland

↑ Back to top

T

Tainan Sign Language = DIALECT of Taiwanese Sign Language: China (Taiwan)

Taipei Sign Language = DIALECT of Taiwanese Sign Language: China (Taiwan)

Taiwanese Sign Language: China (Taiwan)

  • DICTIONARY: Yang, Chiung-huang and Lu Nan-Chou (1984). Piaochun shouyu shout'se. Taipei: Lung ya fu li hsieh hui.
  • STUDY: Chien-Min Chao, James (1994). "Taiwan natural sign language research work," in Erting, Carol J. et al., eds., The deaf way : perspectives from the International Conference on Deaf Culture. Washington, D.C.: Gallaudet University Press, p.347-349.

Tak Sign Language = DIALECT of Thai Sign Language: Thailand

Táknmál = Icelandic Sign Language: Iceland

Tanzanian Sign Language: Tanzania

  • DICTIONARY: Kamusi ya alama Tanzania = The Tanzanian sign language dictionary (1993). Dar es Salaam: Tanzanian Association of the Deaf.
  • STUDY: Anduru, Agoro (1992). "The development of sign language in Tanzania," in East African Sign Language Seminar, Debre Zeit, Ethiopia, August 20-26, 1990. Helsinki : Finnish Association of the Deaf, p.40-41.

Tea House Sign Language: Iran

Temane = Japanese Sign Language: Japan

Thai Sign Language: Thailand

  • DICTIONARY: Suwannarat, Manfa [et al.] (1990). Pathanukrom phasa mu Thai: chabap prapprung lm khayai = The Thai sign language dictionary. [Bangkok, Thailand]: Samakhom Khon Hu Nuak hng Prathet Thai, 2533, 1990.
  • STUDY: Suwanarat, Manfa, and Owen Wrigley (1990). "Sign language research in Thailand," in Edmondson, William H., and Fred Karlsson, eds., SLR´87: papers from the Fourth International Symposium on Sign Language Research, Lappeenranta, Finland July 15-19, 1987. Hamburg : Signum, p.276-278.

Tibetan Sign Language: Tibet

Torres Straits Islander Sign Language = DIALECT of Australian Aborigines Sign Language: Australia

  • STUDIES: Haddon, Alfred C. (1907). "The gesture language of the Eastern Islanders," in Reports of the Cambridge Anthropological Expedition to Torres Straits. Cambridge, England: The University Press, v.3.

    Seligman, C. G., and A. Wilkin (1907). "The gesture language of the Western Islanders," in Reports of the Cambridge Anthropological Expedition to Torres Straits. Cambridge, England: The University Press, v.3.

Trappist Sign Language: Worldwide, but especially France, Britain, United States

  • DICTIONARY: Hutt, Clelia (1987). "Étude d´un corpus: dictionnaire du langage gestuel chez les trappistes," in Umiker-Seboek, Jean, and Thomas A. Sebeok, eds., Monastic sign languages. Berlin, New York, Amsterdam: Mouton de Gruyter, p.39-52.

Trieste Sign Language = DIALECT of Italian Sign Language: Italy

Trondheim Sign Language = DIALECT of Norwegian Sign Language: Norway

Tunisian Sign Language: Tunisia

Turin Sign Language = DIALECT of Italian Sign Language: Italy

Turkish Sign Language: Turkey

  • DICTIONARY: Yetiskinler için Isaret dili Kilavuzu (1995). Ankara: [s.n.].

↑ Back to top

U

Ugandan Sign Language: Uganda

  • DICTIONARY: Manual of Ugandan Signs, revised edition (1998). Kampala, Uganda: Uganda National Association of the Deaf.
  • STUDY: Nyst, Victoria (1999). Variation in handshape in Uganda Sign Language. (Diploma thesis). Leyden, The Netherlands: Leyden University.

Ukrainian Sign Language: Ukraine

  • DICTIONARY: Mimiko-zhestiku liatsionnaia rech/posobie sostavleno N.V. Ivanyushevoi (1969). Kiev: Izdatelstvo "Reklama".

Underwater Sign Language: United States

  • DICTIONARY: Smith, James P. (1994). Divers underwater communication sign system: an illustrated sign manual for scuba divers. Flagstaff, AZ: Best Pub. Co.
  • STUDY: "The Wisher system: underwater communication via sign language" (1960). Naval research reviews, Nov. 1960, p.28-29.

Urubú-Kaapor Sign Language: Brazil

  • STUDY: Kakamasu, Jim (1978). "Urubú Sign Language", in Aboriginal sign languages of the Americas and Australia. New York: Plenum Press, v.2, p.247-253.

Uruguayan Sign Language: Uruguay

  • STUDY: Behares, Luis Ernesto (1986). Cuatro estudios sobre la sociolingü´stica del lenguaje de señas Uruguayo. Montevideo, Uruguay: Instituto Interamericano del Niño.

↑ Back to top

V

Valencian Sign Language: Spain (Llengua de Signes en la Comunitat Valenciana)

Van Beek: Netherlands, Belgium

Venezuelan Sign Language: Venezuela (Lengua de Señas Venezolana)

  • DICTIONARY: Solano, Josefina (1983). Manual de señas. [S.l.: s.n.].
  • STUDY: Oviedo, Alejandro (1996). Contando cuentos en Lengua de Señas Venezolana. Mérida, Venezuela: Universidad de Los Andes, Consejo de Publicaciones: Consejo de Desarrollo Científico, Humanístico y Tecnológico.

Vietnamese Sign Language: Vietnam

  • STUDY: Woodward, James (2000). "Sign languages and sign language families in Thailand and Viet Nam," in Emmorey, Karen, and Harlan Lane, eds., The signs of language revisited : an anthology to honor Ursula Bellugi and Edward Klima. Mahwah, N.J.: Lawrence Erlbaum, p.23-47.

Viittomakieli = Finnish Sign Language: Finland

↑ Back to top

W

Walpari [or Walpiri or Walbiri] Sign Language = DIALECT of Australian Aborigines Sign Language: Australia

  • DICTIONARY: Wright, Cheryl D. (1980). Walpiri hand talk: an illustrated dictionary of hand signs used by the Walpiri people of central Australia. Darwin, NT: Northern Territory Department of Education.
  • STUDY: Meggit, Mervyn (1978). "Sign language among the Walbiri of Central Australia," in Aboriginal sign languages of the Americas and Australia. New York: Plenum Press, v.2, p.409-423.

Warumungu [or Warramunga] Sign Language = DIALECT of Australian Aborigines Sign Language: Australia

Welsh Sign Language = DIALECT of British Sign Language: Great Britain

  • DICTIONARY: Wales Council for the Deaf (1996). Welsh book of sign = Llyfr arwyddion Cymraeg, 2nd ed. Pontypridd: Wales Council for the Deaf.

Western Desert Sign Language = DIALECT of Australian Aborigines Sign Language: Australia

  • STUDY: Miller, Wick R. (1978). "A report on the sign language of the Western Desert (Australia)," in Aboriginal sign languages of the Americas and Australia. New York: Plenum Press, v.2, p.435-440.

Worldsign: International

  • STUDY: Warrick, Anne (1984). "Worldsign: a kinetic language," Communicating together, v.2 no.3, p.17-19.

Worora Kinship Sign Language = DIALECT of Australian Aborigines Sign Language: Australia

  • STUDY: Love, J.R.B. (1941). "Worora kinship gestures," in Aboriginal sign languages of the Americas and Australia. New York: Plenum Press, v.2, p.403-405.

↑ Back to top

Y

Yiddish Sign Language: Israel

Yucatec Maya Sign Language = Mayan Sign Language: Mexico

Yugoslavian Sign Language: Yugoslavia, Slovenia

  • DICTIONARY: Podborsek, Ljubica, and Moderndorfer, Meri (1990). Govorica rok: Prirocnik za ucenje znakovnega jezika. Ljubljana: ZUSGP, Tiskarna Ucne delavnice.
  • STUDY: Zic, Andrija (1987). "Yugoslavian Sign Language," in Van Cleve, John V., ed., Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness. New York, McGraw-Hill, v.3, p.116-118.

Yurira Watjalku = Western Desert Sign Language

↑ Back to top

Z

Zambian Sign Language: Zambia.

  • DICTIONARY: Zambian Sign Language (1985). Lusake: Curriculum Development Centre, Ministry of General Education and Culture.
  • STUDY: Katongo, G.P.N. (1987). Sign language: an investigation into Zambian Sign Language. Unpublished manuscript.

Zimbabwe Community Sign Language = DIALECT of Zimbabwe Sign Language: Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe School Sign Language = DIALECT of Zimbabwe Sign Language: Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe Sign Language: Zimbabwe

  • STUDY: Chimedza, Robert (1995). "A survey of sign language differences among deaf adults in Zimbabwe." Zimbabwe journal of educational research, v.7 no.3, p.314-322.

Zimsign = Zimbabwe Sign Language

Ziran Shouyu = Taiwanese Sign Language

Zürich Sign Language = DIALECT of Swiss-German Sign Language: Switzerland

↑ Back to top

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip