This is the "Home" page of the "Abbe L' Epee: 1712-1789" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Abbe L' Epee: 1712-1789   Tags: deaf, guide, history  

The year, 2012, marks Charles-Michel de L'Epee's 300th anniversary of his birthday.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.gallaudet.edu/Abee-LEpee Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Resources in Archives

The Deaf Collections and Archives has many collections that contain photographs, personal papers, manuscripts, letters, diaries, artwork, films and more.  For more information visit the Archives in the MLC's basement or at the archive's website.

Archive hours are: Monday - Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm. For more information, send an e-mail to: Archives@Gallaudet.edu

 

Deaf Biographical File

Deaf Biographical File contains biographical information of Deaf individuals from around the world.  Materials may be from newspaper and magazine clippings, pamphlets, pictures, and other materials. While you check for  L' Epee, you might want to see folders on Laurent Clerc, Jean Baptiste Massieu, and Abbe Sicard; these individuals were important people in L'Epee's life.

To access the File, check the ALADIN Catalog to identify specific names and to retrieve the materials ask for assistance from the Library Service Desk.  This File is located near the Deaf Stacks on the first floor.  The Deaf Collections and Archival staff maintains this file. 

Films & Videos

 To search for films and videos look in:

  • Library's Catalog
  • Video Catalog

Note:  currently, a large selection of 16mm fillms and U-matic formats are being preserved and added to the Video Catalog.  Items in the Video Catalog are also identified in the Library's Catalog.  Materials in the Video Library are online. 

 

Introduction & Selected Bibliography

INTRODUCTION

Alternative names:   

                            Abbe L' Epee
                            Charles-Michel de Epee
                            Charles-Michel de L' Epée

The year, 2012 marks Charles-Michel de L'Epee's 300th anniversary of his birthday. 

SELECTED BIBLIOGRAPHY

The Gallaudet University Library and Deaf Collections & Archives has a wealth of information on Abbe L'Epee.  Many of our resources on L'Epee are in the English or French language.  Selected items here are in the English language. Some examples of various resources are:

  • Books: 
  • Biographical books: 

Dissertations or theses:

  • Rosenfeld, S.  A Revolution in language: the problem of signs in late eighteenth-century France.  Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press,    2001.  (Deaf STacks 409 R67r 2001)

Drama: 

  • Bouilly, Jean Nicolas.  L'Abbe de l'Epee, founder of the first institution in Paris for the deaf and dumb.  Bristol: I.E. Chillcott, 1870. (Deaf Stacks 842.5 L46Zb 1870)
  • Holcroft, Thomas.  Deaf and dumb: or, the orphan protected.  London: John Cumberland,[1826?]  (Archives Deaf Rare)

Film or video:

  • Plea for a statue of de L'Epee in America.
  • Preservation of the sign language. 

 

Searching in the Library's catalog

To search by keyword in the Library's Catalog, see the following examples:

  • Enter the following in the Library's Catalog's (Summon) search box: L'Epee   (Limit by Gallaudet.  Additional limiters are in the left column of the results page)
  • Enter the following in the Library's Classic Catalog: "L'Epee" (limit location to Gallaudet University Library)

Some video or film resources may be available in the Gallaudet University Video Library.  To access: a link is provided in the Library's Catalog record or go directly to the Gallaudet Video Library

The Library's Catalog may also identify additional resources in the Deaf Biographical File or other materials in the Archives.

Note: The Deaf Collection usually acquires two copies of every book and video. Copies are kept in separate collections and locations.  Circulating materials are in the Deaf Stacks, Deaf DVD and Deaf VHS located on the first floor.  For non-circulating copies known as Deaf Copy 1, please ask for assistance at the Library Service Desk. Additional resources may be in the Archives (see the Archives box to the left).

Electronic Resources

These databases have information about Abbe L'Epee.  Some databases have full-text journal articles, while other databases have citations only (no full-text articles). Most of the resources listed in this box are restricted to the Gallaudet University community and your University ID number or Library barcode will be required for off campus access.

Three databases are open to the community: Gallaudet University Library Guide to Deaf Biographies, Gallaudet University Library Index to Deaf Periodicals and ERIC (Government).

Additional Resources

The American Annals of the Deaf (online from 1847-1893) has publications written by L'Eppe and articles about him.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip